Our experts

Membership of ESAG

ESAG comprises 17 groups (all curriculum subjects, assessment, and diversity and inclusion), whose members include acclaimed subject leaders, academic experts, regulatory bodies, subject associations, and teachers. These members contribute a wealth of current in-the-field experience and extensive professional experience in the wider education sector. Their work is overseen by a Strategic Committee that includes leading educationalists of national renown, such as Professor Robin Alexander, Sir Jim Rose, Dr Kevan Collins and David Weston.

Current ESAG members

Strategic committee

Jo Palmer-Tweed (Chair)
Course Director, Thames Primary Consortium SCITT; Advisor, National College for Teaching and Leadership (NCTL)
Professor Robin Alexander
Chair of the Cambridge Primary Review Trust (CPRT)
Dr Kevan Collins
Chief Executive, The Education Endowment Foundation (EEF) - Observer
Dr Paul Hayman
Headteacher, Westcliff High School for Girls
Louise Hoskyns
Headteacher, Runwell Community Primary School
Emma House
Director of Publisher Relations, The Publishers Association
Sarah Lewis
Deputy Director, National College for Teaching and Leadership - Observer
Stuart Mathers
Department for Education - Observer
Professor Angela McFarlane
Director, College of Teachers
Angela Milner
National Lead for Initial Teacher Education, including FE - Observer
James Noble Rogers
Executive Director of the Universities Council for the Education of Teachers
Chris Pope
The Prince's Teaching Institute - Observer
Sir Jim Rose CBE
President of CfBT Education Committee; President of National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER)
Annette Smith
Chair of Board of Directors, Council for Subject Associations
Martin Thompson
Executive Director, National Association for School-Based Initial Teacher Training
David Weston
Chief Executive, Teacher Development Trust
Caroline Wright
Director, British Educational Suppliers Association (BESA)


Art and Design
Dr Peter Gregory, Senior Lecturer, School of Teacher Education and Development, Canterbury Christ Church University
Liz Moorse, Senior Manager, The Association for Citizenship Teaching
Chris Mairs, Chair, UK Forum for Computing Education (UKForCE)
Cultural Education
Laura Gander-Howe, Director of Children, Young People and Learning, Arts Council England
Design Technology
Carolyn Robson CBE, Executive Headteacher, Rushey Mead School
Jonathan Douglas, Director, National Literacy Trust
Graham Goldup, Senior Assistant Headteacher, Cardinal Newman Catholic School, Hove
Steve Day, Senior Consultant - History (Entrust Education)
Charlie Stripp, Chief Executive, MEI (Mathematic in Education and Industry)
Modern Foreign Languages
Linda Dupret, Headteacher, St Paul's School Brighton
David Wheway, Senior Lecturer, Canterbury Christ Church University
Physical Education
Dr Lorraine Cale, Reader in Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy, Loughborough University
Personal Social Health and Economic Education (PSHEE)
Joe Hayman, Chief Executive, PSHE Association
Religious Education
Debbie Tibbey, Deputy Head Teacher and SENCO, Bere Regis Primary School
Pauline Hoyle, Associate Director, Myscience
Louise Hoskyns-Staples, Director of Education, The Prospects Group
Diversity and Inclusion
Artemi Sakellariadis, Director, Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education (CSIE)